Dr. Y K Gupta

National Scientific Advisor, Pharmacovigilance Programme of India
Dr. Y K Gupta

Dr. Y.K. Gupta M.B.B.S (1974), M.D (Pharmacology, 1979) from King George’s Medical College, Lucknow, is Professor and Head, Department of Pharmacology and Spokesperson, All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), New Delhi. He earlier served as Sub Dean, A.I.I.M.S (1996 – 2001). and Director, Indian Institute of Toxicology Research (IITR, CSIR), Lucknow from 2003 to 2005.

Dr.Gupta is incharge of National Poison Information Centre and is also National Scientific Cocoordinator of Pharmacovigilance Program of India (PvPI).

He has been honored with fellowships of National Academy of Medical Sciences (FAMS), Indian Pharmacological Society (FIPS), National Academy of Science (FNASc), Indian Academy of Neurosciences (FIAN) and Society of Toxicology (India) (FST). He has more than 180 publications in International and National journals and several chapters in books to his credit.

Dr Gupta is recipient of several awards including Young Scientist Medal from Indian National Science Academy, Shakuntala Amirchand Prize (Indian Council of Medical Research : ICMR), Chandrakanta Dandiya Prize, G. Achari Oration Award (Indian Pharmacological Society : IPS), Major General S. L. Bhatia Oration Award (Association of Physiologist and Pharmacologist of India : APPI), AEB Honours Award (Academy of Environmental Biology), C. L. Malhotra Prize (Association of Physiologist and Pharmacologist of India : APPI) etc.

Dr. Gupta is currently President of Society of Toxicology, India and Dean Indian Society for Rational Pharmacotherapeutics, and was President of the Indian Pharmacological Society (2005- 2006). He is the Editor of the Indian Journal of Physiology and Pharmacology (Pharmacology Section) and member editorial board of several International and Indian journals.

He is the Chairman of National Committee of IUPS-IUPHAR of Indian National Science Academy (INSA), Member of IUPHAR –IOSP committee and member of Advisory Committee on Safety of Medicinal Products (ACSoMP) of WHO, chairman of Equivalence Committee and member Ethics Committee of Medical Council of India.

He has been member of Project Advisory Committee / Research Council / Scientific Advisory Committee and Task force of CSIR, ICMR, DST and DBT and Chairman, SAC of National Institute of Occupational Health (NIOH-ICMR). He is chairman of national GLP technical committee of DST, member of the Scientific Body of Indian Pharmacopoeia (IP) and Chairman of Expert Committee on Clinical Medicine and Pharmacology of IP.

He was the Governing body member of Indira Gandhi Postgraduate Institute of Medical Education and Research, Patna. He was the Chairman of National Essential Medicine List Committee 2011 of Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Government of India and also the Chairman of the working group of High Powered Inter-Ministerial Coordination Committee to look into the matters of implementation Government commitment to provide quality medicine at affordable prices.

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more